JC Bose Science Heritage Museum

Acharya Bhaban, Sir JC Bose Trust

Contact No : : (033) 2360 0078
About Us

In 1902, Acharya Jagadis Chandra Bose (1858 -1937) built his residential house “Acharya Bhaban” at 93, Upper Circular Road (now 93, Acharya Prafulla Chandra Road), Kolkata 700009. Acharya Bose and Lady Abala Bose lived out their lives in this house. In a life spanning from 1858 to 1937 and encompassing the Renaissance era in the Arts, Culture and the Sciences in Bengal, Acharya Bose ardently pursued scientific ideas that were 60 years ahead of his time. Equally important were his interests in art, literature and philosophy. The influence of the Upanishad philosophy is reflected in his scientific work which addressed philosophical issues such as the basic unity of life and non - life. Among the friends with whom he deliberated on the arts, literature, philosophy and science in the precincts of Acharya Bhaban and beyond, were some of the greatest luminaries of the country including Rabindranath Tagore, Swami Vivekananda, Sister Nivedita, Mahatma Gandhi, P.C. Ray, S.N. Bose, Meghnad Saha etc. and many other luminaries of the world, Albert Einstein, Bernard Shaw, Romain Rolland, Lord Rayleigh, Henry Cavendish et al.

Lady Abala Bose (1864-1951), a worthy wife and a constant companion of Sir J C Bose, was a visionary, educationist and social and political reformer in her own right. Her pioneering contributions in the field of Indian women's education and emancipation have been overshadowed by the glory of Acharya Bose.

Of the erudite couples of the Bengal Renaissance, the Bose couple was probably the only one who, in unison, influenced the educational and social reforms of the region immensely. They may thus be referred to as “the Bengal Renaissance Couple”.

It is the life of Acharya Bose and Lady Abala Bose vis-à-vis the history of this era that is treasured in Acharya Bhaban.

Sir J C Bose Trust is a non-profit organization founded in 1931 by Acharya Bose. The Trust has been entrusted to maintain Acharya Bhaban along with their moveable and immoveable properties (separate from the Bose Institute) and to preserve their legacy and heritage treasured here for posterity.

At the time of its inception the Trust was run by many luminaries of Bengal. Sir J C Bose and Lady Abala Bose were founder members and secretaries successively. At present, the Trust Board is looked after by scientists and notable persons of the city of Kolkata appointed as per the provisions made by Acharya Bose in the original Trust Deed.

Mission of the Sir J C Bose Trust:

To develop Acharya Bhaban into a world - class "Science Heritage Museum".

Objectives are:

To depict life and work of J C Bose and to present the full impact of his research on the world of science.
To recreate the cultural history of the time and historic role of Acharya Bhaban in the resurrection of science research in India.
To focus on the contribution of the Bose couple in the educational and social reforms of Bengal.


“Of all national assets, archives are the most precious, they are the gift of one generation to another, and the extent of our care of them marks the extent of our civilization.” - Sir Arthur Doughty, Archivist
Thus our motto is also to preserve the legacy of J C Bose for posterity.

Board of Trustees

1. Prof. Parul Chakrabarti - Former Professor & Chairman, Department of Chemistry, Acting Director, Bose Institute, Kolkata Secretary & Trustee, Sir J C Bose Trust
2. Mr. Orijit Chatterjee - Advocate, Calcutta High Court and Trustee & Joint Secretary, Sir J C Bose Trust
3. Prof. Partha P. Majumder - FNA, FASc, FNASc, FTWAS National Science Chair Distinguished Professor and Founder National Institute of Biomedical Genomics, Kalyani Emeritus Professor, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata President, Indian Academy of Sciences President, West Bengal Academy of Science & Technology Trustee, Sir J C Bose Trust
4. Prof. Bikas Kanta Chakrabarti - FNA, FASc Emeritus Professor & Former Acting Director Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata Trustee, Sir J C Bose Trust
5. Mrs. Nabaneeta Law - Retired Senior Vice President, Axis Bank and Chief Manager, State Bank group/ Management Consultant Trustee, Sir J C Bose Trust

Advisory Committee

1. Mr.Arijit Dutta Choudhury, Director General, National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), Kolkata
2. Prof. Indrani Bose, Emeritus Scientist, CSIR and Ex-Senior Professor & Chairperson, Department of Physics, Bose Institute, Kolkata
3. Prof. Mustansir Barma, Professor Emeritus, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Hyderabad
4. Prof. Deepak Dhar, Distinguished Visiting Faculty, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research ( IISER) Pune & Department of Theoretical Physics , Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai
5. Mrs.Sanjukta Kundu, Former Senior Teacher of Physics Faculty, Calcutta International School, Garden High International School, Ashoka Hall Girls High School, Kolkata
6. Prof .Joyoti Basu, FNA, FASc, FNASc, FTWAS, J C Bose National Fellow, Bose Institute, Former Professor & Chairperson, Department of Chemistry, Bose Institute, Kolkata
7. Prof. Manikuntala Kundu, FASc, FAScT, Emeritus Scientist of CSIR Bose Institute Former Professor & Chairperson, Department of Chemistry, Bose Institute, Kolkata
8. Dr. Probir K. Bondyopadhyay, Houston, Texas, USA.

For Donation / Support - Enquire Here